MERLOT Voices

Putting Educational Innovations into Practice.

Please introduce yourself here. This is a way you can meet other people who are involved in GRAPE Camp during this period. Include as many details as you wish.

Views: 256

Replies to This Discussion

Hello All, 

My name is Erin Rudders.  I am a hydrogeologist with 20 years of experience that includes environmental and water supply consulting, public service and higher education.  I am currently an instructor in the Environmental Sciences Department at Spokane Community College in Northeastern Washington.  Our Department teaches some transfer courses but our core is an array of professional/technical programs that prepare students for careers.  My primary program is Water Resources Technology and we train students for careers as hydrologic (or natural science related) technicians and/or water operators / wastewater treatment operators.  

I am new to the concept of open educational resources.  I am realizing that much of the public domain technical documentation and guidance that we already use in our courses are OERs.  I am hoping to organize our use of these resources, share our use of the materials on MERLOT and ultimately create new resources to share.   

I am excited by the reality that there are openly shared resources and ideas out there that I have not been using and inspired by the dream that in the future our own materials and resources could contribute to an individual student or to an instructor at any stage in their career anywhere in the world.

Thank you for all of the detail, Erin. I've been working with OERs since 1999, and it is truly the new face of education.  Many faculty members are helpfully sharing what they have created, including textbooks. The whole idea of sharing is new to many.  I hope you'll find (and share) a lot of resources for your classes.  I also hope you spread the use of these resources within your institution.

Hello,