MERLOT Voices

Putting Educational Innovations into Practice.

Please introduce yourself in this discussion forum. You can share information about your teaching, research interests, institution, and even personal information. This is a great way to build a network of those who are going through MERLOT GRAPE Orientation.

Views: 194

Replies to This Discussion

Ahoy all,

(Quick Note: This is a cross-post from the Winter/Spring 2019 Introductions thread.)

I'm a pirate and OER enthusiast who works as an Instructional Designer and Instructor at Texas Woman's University. Yes, piracy and OERs are the absolute perfect fit.

Literally, I have a PhD in pirates, pedagogy, and children's literature. This means I'm an advocate for equity, accessibility, and social justice in education. One way I do this is with the concentrated use of OERs in all educational situations, including community programming.

My opinion: OERs don't just stop with content. I evaluate and use Open Access edtech, too. It's usually the perfect complement to content OERs.

I'm here to continue to unearth treasure. Help increase access to quality materials not only by contributing to them, but also by partnering with others.

I want to know more about my co-conspirators, including all of you. Contact me if you simply want to swap ideas! I've offered to run a free test of the open resource EdTech Perusall with another OER group. Because...why not? I'm happy to invite all of you, too.

Blue skies,

Stacy

Hi, Stacy:

ARGH! I'm happy to hear of your interest in OERs. Please consider cataloging some of your findings in MERLOT.

This is Alex Lewko, English Language Instructor at the American University in Cairo.  I generally teach writing to graduate students at the early stages of their studies, but I also teach undergraduates as well as other courses here.