MERLOT Voices

Putting Educational Innovations into Practice.

Please introduce yourself here. Share something about your academic life as well as your personal life (if you wish). This is a great opportunity to network with others going through GRAPE Camp

Views: 204

Replies to This Discussion

Hello from New Hampshire!

My name is Adam Gilbert. I am an Assistant Professor of Mathematics at Southern New Hampshire University's physical campus in Manchester, NH. Prior to joining the faculty at SNHU, I earned my PhD in mathematics from the University of Rhode Island in 2013 and then spent a year teaching mathematics at Northeastern University in Boston. I now live here in New Hampshire with my wife and two daughters (2 and 3.5), where we enjoy walks, bouncy houses, and all things outdoors!

I first became interested in OER upon arriving at SNHU. I encountered many students who couldn't afford to purchase proprietary textbooks and their expensive add-ons (like online homework systems). I now [proudly and successfully] use high-quality open textbooks in all of my courses. In fact, our math department at SNHU uses open or free textbooks for all but three of its course offerings. In addition to using OER, I'm also actively involved in a project to develop a very strong and competitive set of resources (including a text, online homework system, labs, instructor resources, and more) for courses in introductory applied statistics at OpenIntro.org. I am very excited to continue using and developing OER, and soon to be reviewing content here at MERLOT!

Looking forward to working with you all,

--Adam

Welcome, Adam. I'm very happy to hear that you and your university are using open textbooks. We have quite a few of them in MERLOT, primarily due to the COOL4Ed project:  cool4ed.org

It would be very helpful if you could see if we have the textbook you're using in MERLOT. You can do a simple search by keying in the title and author.